Pick Your Rock and Metal

Saturday, July 09, 2016

NEWS: Testament to release new album five days before Dublin date

LEGENDARY bay area thrash metal giants Testament have announced the title and release date of their highly anticipated upcoming 12th album.

‘The Brotherhood Of The Snake’ will be released on October 28th, 2016 via Nuclear Blast – just five days before they play in Dublin with Amon Amarth and Grand Magus.

The album was recorded by producer Juan Urteaga (Exodus, Heathen, Machine Head), guitarist Eric Peterson and singer Chuck Billy - and is currently being mixed and mastered by producer Andy Sneap (Accept, Arch Enemy, Cradle Of Filth, Kreator, Machine Head, Megadeth).

Testament were one of the first thrash metal band to emerge from the San Francisco Bay Area in the 1980's, originally formed as 'Legacy' in 1983 by founding members Eric Peterson (rhythm guitar), Derrick Ramirez (guitar) and Louie Clemente (drums), the line-up included vocalist Steve Souza and Greg Christian (bass).

Ramirez was later replaced by Alex Skolnick (lead guitar). Souza soon departed to join Exodus and suggested that the imposing Chuck Billy take over as frontman. The band became known as 'Testament' three years later while recording their debut album in Ithaca, New York. ‘The Legacy’ was a brutal introduction in 1987, putting Testament at the forefront of the flourishing thrash metal scene.

Following ‘Live At Eindhoven’, an EP recorded at Holland's Dynamo Festival, ‘The New Order’ (1988) was very well received, producing one of the band's most memorable classics ‘Disciples Of The Watch’.

No comments: