Pick Your Rock and Metal

Friday, July 15, 2016

NEWS: Subrosa prep for new release with new track release for doom-tastic...and the violins come along too

SALT Lake City experimental doom band SUBROSA have unveiled 'Wound of the Warden', the first track from upcoming album, 'For This We Fought the Battle of Ages', due out August 26 on Profound Lore Records.

Fully engineered and mixed by drummer Andy Patterson, the album achieves a dynamic mix with bigger-sounding production values than their previous output. Mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Engineering, the album’s intricacies are accentuated, and heaviness remains heavy - “heavy is important,” says Vernon.

With this release, the band are continuing the momentum built from 2013’s More Constant Than The Gods, which saw year-end acclaim in all metal and mainstream music outlets respectively. The album brought a new awareness to SUBROSA as one of the most prominent doom-infused metal bands from America today, through their singular crushing monolithic sound canvas - which consists of a devastating mix of soul crushing doom metal, neo-classical chamber music (solidified by the band’s two electric violin players) - and Appalachian murder balladry, all filtered through the veil of American gothic tragedy.

“Whenever we make an album, my number one ambition is to be an energy force, to create a difference and make people feel something real. I want it to do what art is supposed to do.” - Rebecca Vernon.

In support of For This We Fought the Battle of Ages, the band will be touring the globe extensively. Already confirmed is a European tour in September and October, with U.S. shows following in November.

For This We Fought the Battle of Ages is available to pre-order in Europe HERE

For This We Fought the Battle of Ages tracklist:
1.  Despair Is A Siren
2.  Wound of the Warden
3.  Black Majesty
4.  Il Cappio
5.  Killing Rapture
6.  Troubled Cells

Rebecca Vernon: Guitar
Sarah Pendleton: Electric violin + Vocals
Kim Pack: Electric violin + Vocals
Levi Hanna: Bass
Andy Patterson: Drums

Guitarist Rebecca Vernon’s vision for SUBROSA brewed for some years before songwriting for the band began in the beginning of 2005; debut album The Worm Has Turned was released the following year, the Strega LP followed in 2008 and SUBROSA  went on to self-release The Swans Trapped In Ice EP in 2009.  In 2011, SUBROSA ’s groundbreaking full-length album No Help For The Mighty Ones was released on Profound Lore Records; No Help... received extensive critical acclaim. With the band’s lineup solidified with Vernon alongside Kim Pack (electric violin, vocals), Sarah Pendleton (electric violin, vocals), Levi Hanna (bass) and Andy Patterson (drums), SUBROSA released More Constant Than the Gods in 2013 which topped countless year end lists including Decibel Magazine, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, SPIN, Entertainment Weekly and more.

No comments: