Pick Your Rock and Metal

Monday, August 01, 2016

NEWS: More Aussie rockers? Black Aces to launch album in Europe

IF Australian rockers Black Aces know one thing, it’s that rock n’ roll is a like a good pair of jeans - when you put them on it feels so right, and a great set will last forever.

Giving less of a nod than a sweaty “cheers” to the hard rocking 70s bands of Australia and beyond, Black Aces had been storming up and down the width and breadth of their homeland for over 5 years before releasing their debut record Shot In The Dark in early 2016. Loaded with anthems-in-waiting and a no bullshit delivery, Black Aces have beaten a path to rare ground on their debut record- a hard rock band that manages to both stomp and swing.

Recorded under the watchful eye of producer and former Kids In The Kitchen member Craig Harnath (Airbourne, The Living End, Jim Keays, Dallas Crane, Franz Ferdinand), at St Kilda's renowned Hothouse Studios, Black Aces have delivered a debut album to be proud of. Shot In The Dark is ten tracks of pure Aussie rock'n'roll the way it's meant to be delivered. From the poppier lead single 'Girl Like You', to the four on the floor balls out energy of 'Back On The Chain', or the foreboding dark tones of closer 'The Walls', Shot In The Dark is an album in the truest sense, not a collection of individual tracks, but a selection of songs made for each other.

The release culminates a year that saw the band whip around their homeland with abandon, sinking beers and pleasing ears with a live show that has seen them garner support slots from- and make fans out of- certified Aussie rock royalty including Cosmic Psychos, Dallas Crane, Angry Anderson (Rose Tattoo) and The Casanovas, along with several thousand now hearing impaired punters.

The album was picked up on import but September sees the release proper of Shot In The Dark in the UK. In light of the imports the band have added three exclusive “European Bonus Tracks” to the September release. September also sees the band return to the UK and Europe for three months of touring – details TBA. With a guitar in hand and a chip on their shoulder, this denim clad 4 piece is ready to take rock and roll to every person who've ever loved a good pair of jeans, one pub at a time.

1. Shot In The Dark                              
2. Girl Like You                     
3. Back On The Chain        
4. Sick As A Dog                  
5. I'm Your Nightmare                         
6. Let It Roll                                             
7. Rough Touch                    
8. Burnin' Up The Highway
9. (Take It To) The Wire   
10. The Walls
11. Girls Got Rhythm (European Bonus Track)
12. Shake The Ace (European Bonus Track)
13. Wanted Man (European Bonus Track)                       

No comments: