Pick Your Rock and Metal

Sunday, February 15, 2015

NEWS: Reinventing Scorps, when free album isn't free, Satyr on the opera, and Coal Chamber album

NEWS: Roth goes back to Scorpions roots

ULI Jon Roth, mystic, guitar guru, and former member of the Scorpions has taken songs from four Scorpions albums and not just re-recorded them, but reinvented them for a double CD release on UDR on March 9th.

"The material for this double CD was recorded last year in the same hall in Hanover that we used for the Scorpions rehearsals 1973-1978,” explained Roth.
“Together with an amazing bunch of very talented young musicians, I revisited my personal favourites from the early Scorpions period, some of which were written in that same hall. It was an emotional few days and I am very pleased with the results in more ways than one.
"The idea was to stay truthful to the original spirit of the music, while also putting a new slant on it whenever it felt like the right thing to do. I feel we really succeeded in this and I’m very excited about this project. It was a intense journey into the past and I think we really managed to bring the songs back to life with a vengeance."

NEWS: Free album...not for NI
BRIT 'Alt-Rockers' Never A Hero are giving away free copies of their new album to everyone attending their UK tour. But it's a UK tour that leaves out us here in Northern Ireland - which is still part of the UK...
If you want to get a hold of it without travelling to England or Wales you'll have to wait to March 30th to hear 'UnEvolution'.
NEWS: Satryicon go operatic

Norwegian Black Metal legends SATYRICON have signed a worldwide deal with Austrian metal label Napalm Records for release of their upcoming DVD 'Live At The Opera!'
 Mastermind Satyr about the story behind 'Live At The Opera'.

“The whole thing started with us doing one song, “To The Mountains” a year and a half before the actual show," said Satyr.

"We performed at a closed event in the main hall of the opera with the Royal Norwegian Opera Chorus. It was very inspirational. I then said to the conductor that I would love to do a whole show like this. He loved the idea, I was serious about it, and he was serious about it."

NEWS: Dez and Coal Chamber back with new album
Reactivated Los Angeles, California’s Coal Chamber have confirmed a May 19th North America release date for their new album 'Rivals'. This is the band’s first new album in over thirteen years.
With producer Mark Lewis at the helm, Rivals makes it seem as if the band never took a break at all. They picked up right where they left off and have delivered what some may consider their best work to date. The artwork (pictured above) and track listing for Rivals have now been revealed.

Frontman Dez Fafara - familiar to us all as singer of Devil Driver, said:
“This record was over 13 years in the Making and I promise this record won't disappoint and will be worth the wait! 
"Rivals is solid through and through, there's maturity and growth in the music while still maintaining the true Coal Chamber sound and delivering track after track of killer tunes! We had a great time working together on this record and I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!”
Here's the tracklist:
  1. I.O.U. Nothing
  2. Bad Blood Between Us
  3. Light in the Shadows
  4. Suffer in Silence
  5. The Bridges You Burn
  6. Orion
  7. Another Nail in the Coffin
  8. Rivals
  9. Wait
  10. Dumpster Dive
  11. Over My Head
  12. Fade Away (Karma Never Forgets)
  13. Empty Handed
  14. Worst Enemy

No comments: