Pick Your Rock and Metal

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Def Leppard set to release a new album ahead of tour - and it's called...Def Leppard!

MANY, many years ago the Ulster Hall in Belfast resounded with one of the most remarkable gigs as Def Leppard kicked off their Pyromania tour just as 'Photograph' was storming the charts. They even ranked it as one of the top 10 gigs of all time.

Now, many, many years later Def Leppard are coming back as part of a tour backing their eleventh studio album, called simply 'Def Leppard'. Yeah, they must have been up all night thinking of that one...

The band play the SSE Arena, Belfast on 7th December as part of a tour package that includes Whitesnake and Black Star Riders.

The new Lepps release is officially released on 27th November, but as has become fashionable of late the UK CD fanpack is being released as part of a Classic Rock magazine 'special' with all the bells
and whistles on 30th October.

The last time out Def Leppard's average 'Songs From The Sparkle Lounge' the promise from the band is "instant hooks" from the lead-off single 'Let's Go' to tracks such as the promised "anthemic" 'Sea of Love" and acoustic 'Battle of My Own'.

This is a 14 track release that wasn't intended to be an album as Joe Elliot explained.

"We got together to see what we had with maybe putting out a three track EP in mind," said Elliot. "All of a sudden we had 12 songs on the go, and two more would come just a few weeks later.

"It's the first album we've ever made with deal in place and no one looking over our shoulders so the freedom was immense and I think you can hear it in the songs."

The elusive deal came thanks to earMUSIC, part of EdelGmbH.

The aforementioned fanpack is a 116-page mag, a bonus track, art and interviews as well as a key ring and 'stuff'. The price tag? £15.99. To tempt fans to pre-order there is a window sticker and a chance to win tickets to be on the four-night Def Leppard cruise from Miami. Even us cynics are tempted by that!

While we ponder listening to classic rock vibes in the sunshine, sipping cold beer here's the tracklisting for Def Leppard.

1. Let's Go
2. Dangerous
3. Man Enough
4. We Belong

5. Invincible
6. Sea Of Love
7. Energized
8. All Time High
9. Battle Of My Own
10. Broke 'N' Brokenhearted
11. Forever Young
12. Last Dance
13. Wings Of An Angel
14. Blind Faith

No comments: